Farbliche Stigmatisierung von friedlich Protestierenden und Inhaftierten in belarusischen Gefängnissen

19. November 2020, 12:18 | “Nash Dom” International Center for Civil Initiatives
Source: Nash Dom

Die Mitarbeiter des belarusischen Innenministeriums nutzen Farbcodes zur Stigmatisierung festgenommener friedlicher Demonstrant*innen und Insassen der Haftanstalten. Die Polizei verwendet farbliche Kennzeichnung, um zu bestimmen, welche Art von Misshandlung und Folter anzuwenden ist, einschließlich Methoden, die schwere bleibende Gesundheitsschäden nach sich ziehen.

Die Farbmarkierung eines Häftlings bedeutet, dass die Person in der Haftanstalt einer bestimmten Art von Misshandlung oder verschärften Haftbedingungen ausgesetzt wird.

Die Haftanstalten für kurzzeitigen Freiheitsentzug, die Untersuchungshaftanstalten, in denen Beschuldigte in einem Strafverfahren während der Ermittlung untergebracht werden, die Strafkolonien und andere Vollzugsanstalten unterstehen dem Innenministerium, d. h. der Polizei bzw. den Strafverfolgungsbehörden. Außerdem nehmen Mitarbeiter des Innenministeriums Menschen bei Protestaktionen vorübergehend fest.

Seit Anfang August wurden zahlreiche Fakten über die Verwendung verschiedener Farben zur Kennzeichnung der inhaftierten Demonstrierenden bekannt. Je nachdem, mit welcher Farbe die Polizei eine inhaftierte Person kennzeichnet, wird sie unterschiedlichen Arten der Misshandlung und Folter unterzogen.

Gegenwärtig wird die folgende Farbcodierung für inhaftierte friedliche Demonstrant*innen verwendet:

  1. Gelb. Der/die Gefangene wird gefoltert und misshandelt, erleidet aber in der Regel keine dauerhafte körperliche Behinderung.
  2. Rot. Der/die Gefangene wird brutal gefoltert, trägt häufig schwere gesundheitliche Schäden oder eine dauerhafte Behinderung davon.
  3. Grün. So werden Gefangene mit unkonventionellem Aussehen gekennzeichnet (Dreadlocks, blaue Haarfarbe, Piercing usw.). Sie sind Folter und Misshandlung sowie im besonderem Maße Beschimpfungen und Beleidigungen ausgesetzt.
  4. Schwarz. Diese Gefangenen werden am stärksten verstümmelnden Folterpraktiken ausgesetzt; nach unbestätigten Informationen kann ein solcher Häftling auch getötet werden.
Das Foto zeigt den Hoodie einer wegen Teilnahme an friedlichen Aktivitäten verhafteten Frau, der gelb markiert war. In den meisten Fällen wird jedoch das Gesicht farblich markiert.
Source: Nash Dom
Ein festgenommener Mann wurde für die Verweigerung eines Schuldeingeständnisses grausam verprügelt. Zuvor war er mit roter Farbe markiert worden.
Source: Nash Dom

Gegenwärtig verwendet die Polizei auch ein bestimmtes Farbsystem von „Kennzeichen“ (Aufnäher, Erkennungsmarken) zur Klassifizierung von Gefangenen in den belarusischen Vollzugsanstalten. Von der einem Gefangenen zugewiesenen Farbe hängt es, welcher Art von Folter und Misshandlung er ausgesetzt wird.

Die farbliche Differenzierung von Gefangenen in Haftanstalten führt zu ungleichen Bedingungen, zu einer erhöhten Aufmerksamkeit der Gefängnisverwaltung für „farbige“ Gefangene und erhöht die Wahrscheinlichkeit zusätzlicher Strafen, einschließlich Isolationshaft, Verweigerung von Familienbesuchen und Paketen und Schwierigkeiten beim Antrag auf vorzeitige Entlassung. Dies führt zur Stigmatisierung und Diskriminierung bestimmter Gruppen von Gefangenen, vor allem von „Kindern 328“ – Jugendlichen, die zum ersten Mal wegen geringfügiger „Drogendelikte“ nach Artikel 328 des belarusischen Strafgesetzbuches verurteilt wurden und grüne Kennzeichen tragen müssen.

Wir möchten betonen, dass Serienmörder, Vergewaltiger, korrupte Beamte und andere Gefangene, die wegen besonders schwerer Verbrechen verurteilt wurden, nicht gesondert gekennzeichnet werden und weiße (neutrale) Kennzeichen tragen.

Im Schreiben Nr. 89/5/G-5 vom 23.07.2019 erklärt die Abteilung für Strafvollzug in Minsk und dem Minsker Gebiet, dass derzeit drei Farben zur Kennzeichnung der Gefangenen verwendet werden:

A) Grün kennzeichnet Jugendliche und junge Leute, die wegen geringfügiger Vergehen zu 8-15 Jahren Gefängnis verurteilt wurden, aufgrund von Vergehen, die mit dem illegalen Handel von Suchtstoffen, psychotropen Substanzen, deren Grundstoffen und Analogstoffen in Zusammenhang stehen, in der Regel sind dies Vergehen nach Artikel 328 StGB. Es gibt bereits ganze Gruppen von Jugendlichen in Gefängnissen, die nur aus „328ern“ bestehen.

Nach Artikel 328 des Strafgesetzbuchs verurteilte Gefangene mit grünen Kennzeichen.
Source: KYKY

B) Gelb werden in der Regel Anarchisten und Antifaschisten markiert, deren strafrechtliche Verfolgung durch KGB und Sonderabteilungen der Generaldirektion für die Bekämpfung von organisierter Kriminalität und Korruption (GUBOPiK) erfolgt. Die gelbe Markierung kennzeichnet „Personen, die zum Extremismus neigen“ und setzt besondere Aufmerksamkeit seitens der Gefängnisverwaltung voraus. Das bedeutet, dass diese Personen bei Inspektionen immer in der ersten Reihe stehen müssen, nur Briefe mit Alltagsinformationen erhalten dürfen und jegliche Anweisungen der Verwaltung unter Androhung von ernsten Konsequenzen befolgen müssen: Verweigerung von Anrufen, Besuchen und Warensendungen beziehungsweise Isolationshaft.

C) Gefangene, die nach Ansicht der Gefängnisverwaltung zu Flucht- oder Selbstmordversuchen neigen, sind rot markiert.

Source: Nash Dom
Auszug aus dem offiziellen Schreiben 89/5/G-5 vom 23.07.2019 der Strafvollzugsabteilung der Stadt Minsk und des Minsker Gebiet: „Insbesondere werden zur Zeit in Strafvollzugsanstalten bei Personen aus dem Sonderkontigent auf der Kleidung des Gefangenen Kennzeichen angebracht: Gelb bei denen, die präventiver Überwachung unterliegen, Rot bei Ausbruchsgefährdeten und Grün bei denen, die wegen Handeltreibens mit Betäubungsmitteln verurteilt wurden“.
Source: Nash Dom

Kurioserweise versucht das Innenministerium in einem früheren Schreiben Nr. 29/1-5/Ж-8461 vom 21.11.2017, die Verwendung von Farbmarkierungen von Gefangenen abzustreiten, indem es erklärt, dass die Verwendung einer bestimmten Farbe „nicht gesetzlich geregelt“ sei, so dass die Kennzeichen jede Farbe haben können, einschließlich Grün. Aber das entspricht nicht den Tatsachen, denn die „328er“ bekommen nie ein gelbes oder weißes Kennzeichen, sondern aus irgendeinem Grund stets grün.

Auszug aus dem Schreiben Nr. 29/1-5/Ж-8461 vom 21.11.2017: „Das Material, aus dem das Kennzeichen hergestellt wird, sowie seine Farbe sind also nicht durch die Strafgesetzgebung geregelt und können von jeder Farbe, einschließlich Grün, sein“.
Source: Nash Dom

Die folgende Aufstellung zeigt, dass dieselben Farben konsistent zur Kennzeichnung derselben „Verbrechen“ verwendet werden, was auf eine gewisse Logik und ein bewusstes System der Kennzeichnung von einerseits Gefangenen und andererseits festgenommener Protestierender schließen lässt.

FarbeFestgenommene bei friedlichen ProtestenGefängnisinsassen
GrünKennzeichnet ungewöhnliches Aussehen (Dreadlocks, blaue Haarfarbe, Piercings, Tätowierungen bei Frauen).Kennzeichnet Verurteilte gemäß Artikel 328, d. h. für Drogendelikte.
GelbKennzeichnet Menschen, die fragen, warum sie inhaftiert wurden, Beamte auffordern, ihren Namen zu nennen, etc.
Sie werden gefoltert und misshandelt, aber im Allgemeinen nicht verkrüppelt. Ihre Gesundheit wird geschädigt, aber es besteht die Möglichkeit, dass die Person nicht behindert bleibt.

Kennzeichnet Antifaschisten, „Extremisten“ (äußern sich regierungskritisch in sozialen Netzwerken). Sie müssen bei Kontrollen immer in erster Reihe stehen, erhalten nur Briefe mit alltäglichen Informationen und müssen jede Anweisung der Verwaltung genau befolgen, andernfalls werden ihnen Anrufe, Besuche und Warensendungen verweigert oder sie werden in Isolationshaft verbannt.
RotKennzeichnet diejenigen, die versuchten, sich friedlich der Inhaftierung zu widersetzen, zum Beispiel, wegzulaufen.
Werden brutaler Folter unterzogen und tragen oft schwere gesundheitliche Schäden oder eine Behinderung davon.
Kennzeichnet diejenigen, die zur Flucht- oder Selbstmordversuchen neigen. Verschärfte Bedingungen. Ständige Kontrollen und erhöhtes Risiko von Folter.
WeißNicht mit einer Farbe markiert. Keine Folter und Misshandlung, werden meist nach der Erstellung des Vernehmungsprotokolls entlassen.Weißes Kennzeichen. Die mildesten Haftkonditionen. Die Person erhält praktisch alles, worauf sie einen gesetzlichen Anspruch hat.
Schwarz (?)Nach unbestätigten Informationen Folter mit möglicherweise tödlichen Folgen.Keine Informationen vorhanden.

Wir fordern den sofortigen Stopp der Farbmarkierung von Inhaftierten, die in einer grausamen Folterskala und Verkrüppelung durch Misshandlungen mündet.

Wir halten es für inakzeptabel, dass in Belarus gelbe Markierungen verwendet werden, um politisch aktive Bürger in Haftanstalten erkennbar zu machen.

Wir rufen dazu auf, am 23. November 2020 als Zeichen der Solidarität mit den friedlichen Bürgern von Belarus, die wegen ihrer politischen Haltung und ihres friedlichen Protests misshandelt und gefoltert wurden, in sozialen Netzwerken ein Bild eines gelben Rechtecks zu veröffentlichen oder ein Foto von sich selbst mit einem gelben Viereck oder einem Dreieck zu machen, demselben gelben Abzeichen, das politische Gefangene in Belarus tragen müssen.

Color-coded stigmatization and labeling of peaceful protesters and prisoners in Belarusian prisons

19 November 2020, 12:18 | “Nash Dom” International Center for Civil Initiatives
Source: Nash Dom

We would like to draw your attention to the fact that staff of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Belarus use color-coded stigmatization and markings on detained peaceful protesters and on Belarusian prisoners serving sentences in places of detention. Police use color differentiation and markings to distinguish between the types of torture and ill-treatment a person will be subjected to, including practices that may be mutilating.

Marking a detained protester or prisoner a certain color means that a certain type of torture will be applied to this person, or that the condition of their detention will be worsened.

Temporary detention facilities (or “IVS”, where detainees serve an administrative sentence), pre-trial detention centers (or “SIZO”, where people are kept before trial under criminal articles), colonies and other places of deprivation of liberty are subordinate to the Ministry of Internal Affairs, i.e. militia (law enforcement agency). Also, employees of the Ministry of Internal Affairs detain people at protests.

Since the beginning of August, numerous cases of using different colors to mark detained protesters have become known. Depending on the color the police use to mark a detained person, he/she is subjected to a certain kind of torture.

At the moment, we are aware of the following color markings being used for detained peaceful protesters:

  1. Yellow. The detainee is tortured and ill-treated, but usually not mutilated.
  2. Red. The detainee is tortured, often to an extent that leads to severe injuries that may result in disability or permanent significant damage to a person’s health.
  3. Green. Detainees with non-standard appearances (such as dreadlocks, blue hair, piercings, etc.) are marked. They are tortured and ill-treated, and are also subjected to a lot of verbal bullying and insults.
  4. Black. People are subjected to the most mutilating form of torture. According to unconfirmed information, such a detainee may even be killed.
Photo of a sweatshirt belonging to a female protester detained for participating in peaceful actions. The sweatshirt has been marked in yellow, though marks are usually made on the faces of the protesters, not their clothes.
Source: Nash Dom
The detained man was severely beaten for refusing to testify. Before that, he had been marked with red paint.
Source: Nash Dom

At the moment, in prisons and detention facilities in Belarus, the police officers also use a certain color system of “tags” (color patches or badges) for marking prisoners. The color which is assigned to a prisoner depends on what kind of torture and ill-treatment this person will be subjected to.

Color discrimination and color stigmatization lead to the fact that prisoners are detained in unequal conditions compared to other prisoners – they are kept under increased scrutiny of the prison administration, and they have higher chances of receiving additional punishment (including placement in a “black hole” or a tiny punishment cell), being deprived of visits and parcels from relatives, as well as encountering difficulties in obtaining a conditional early sentence. This leads to discrimination against certain groups of prisoners, first of all the so-called “328-children” – adolescents and young people convicted for the first time for petty crimes under the “drug” Article 328 of the Criminal Code of Belarus, who are marked in green.

We would like to emphasize that serial killers, rapists, those convicted of corruption, and other prisoners serving sentences for especially grave crimes are not marked in any color and wear white (neutral) “tags”.

In a letter numbered 89/5/G-5 dated 23 July 2019, the Department for the Execution of Punishments for the City of Minsk and the Minsk Region explained that at the moment, they use three colors to mark prisoners:

A) Green is used to mark adolescents and youngsters sentenced for minor crimes to 8-15 years in prison under articles related to illegal trafficking of narcotic drugs and psychotropic substances. As a rule, they are sentenced under Article 328 of the Criminal Code. There are already whole detachments of young people in prisons which only consist of “328s”.

The photo shows prisoners sentenced under Article 328 of the Criminal Code of the Republic of Belarus. They are wearing uniforms marked with green badges on the chest.
Source: KYKY

B) Yellow is used for marking anarchists and anti-fascists, the persecution of whom is carried out by the KGB and special departments of the GUBOPiK (Main Directorate for Combating Organized Crime and Corruption). The yellow tag stands for “prone to extremism” and implies special attention to a prisoner from the prison administration. This means that these people must always be in the forefront for checks, receive letters only with basic everyday information, and obey any order from the administration. Otherwise, they may be deprived of phone calls, meetings with visitors, parcels, and/or may be placed in a punishment cell.

C) Red is used for marking those prisoners who, in the opinion of the prison administration, are prone to escape attempts or suicide.

Source: Nash Dom
Excerpt from the official letter of the Department for the Execution of Punishments for the City of Minsk and the Minsk Region 89/5/G-5 dated 23 July 2019: “In particular, currently in the institutions of the Penal Execution System, persons from among the special contingent are issued badges on their uniform as follows: for those assigned to preventive supervision – badges on a yellow background, for those assigned to the category of “prone to escape” convicts – badges on a red background, those who are convicted of crimes in the category of illegal trafficking of narcotic drugs – badges on a green background.”
Source: Nash Dom

Interestingly enough, in another letter, No. 29/1-5/Ж-8461 dated 21 November 2017, the Ministry of Internal Affairs tries to deny the use of color marking of prisoners, explaining that the use of a certain color is “not regulated by law”, so badges of convicts can be of any color, including green. But this is not true, because “328-children” are never seen wearing a yellow or white (neutral) “tag”, for some reason, they are only assigned green ones.

Excerpt from letter No. 29/1-5/Ж-8461 dated 21 November 2017: “Thus, the material from which the badge is made, as well as its color, is not regulated by the penal legislation, and can be of any color, including green.”
Source: Nash Dom

As we can see, the same colors are used to mark certain categories of “crimes”, which suggests a certain kind of logic and a deliberately implemented system of marking prisoners and protesters detained at rallies by employees of the Ministry of Internal Affairs.

ColorDetained at a peaceful protestPrisoner in places of detention
GreenUsed for marking unusual appearance (dreadlocks, blue hair, piercings, tattoos on women, etc).Used for marking prisoners detained under Article 328, i.e. for crimes related to trafficking of narcotic drugs.
YellowUsed for marking people who try to ask why they were detained or ask those who have arrested them to introduce themselves, etc.
They are tortured and ill-treated, but generally not severely mutilated. Their health will be harmed, but chances are that the person will not remain disabled.
Used for marking anti-fascists and “extremists” (people who are seized for critical posts on social networks, etc.), who must always be in the forefront of checks, can only receive letters with basic information, and must obey any order from the administration. Otherwise, the person will be deprived of phone calls, meetings with visitors, parcels, and/or may be placed in a punishment cell.
RedPeople are brutally tortured and often left with disabilities. Used for marking those who, in one way or another, try to resist detention (for example, by trying to run away).Used for marking those prone to trying to escape or committing suicide. Severe regime. Constant checkups and increased risk of being tortured.
WhiteNot marked with any color. There will be no torture or ill-treatment. The person will most likely be released home with a detention protocol or fine.White tag. The most lenient regime. The person practically gets everything that is required by law.
Black (?)According to unconfirmed information, torture is applied such that a person can be killed.No proven information that it is used.

We call for an end to color-coded stigmatizing practices, which lead to a scaling of torture and mutilating ill-treatment of detainees and prisoners.

We consider it unacceptable for Belarus to use yellow markings in prisons and detention facilities to designate politically active citizens.

As a sign of solidarity with the peaceful citizens of Belarus who were tortured for their civic position and their peaceful protest, on 23 November 2020 we call on you to post a picture of a yellow square on your social networks or take a photo of yourself with a yellow quadrangle or a triangle – with the same yellow badge that they put on political prisoners in Belarus.